CFSW Day 5

Lots of things happened today. Some good things. Some bad things. But nothing that stops this from being one of the best, well-run, well-organized festivals I have been to yet. It has been an honour and a privilege to work alongside Sean McGarragle, Charles Hamilton, Missie Peters, John Johnstone and more to help, in even a small way, to make such a thing so great.

I am disappointed tonight. I felt the best team did not move on to the finals. I do not say this to denigrate ANY other team and I don’t think anyone is in who does not deserve it. I just think that one particular piece (anyone who was there knows which poem I am talking about) deserved a higher score than what it got. This is not sour grapes. Disagreeing with the judges is part of slam. This is the game we choose to play. Most days I love it. Some days it feels like a gut punch. Such is life, to quote a wise woman.

I will say that a large number of people in the crowd booed when it was announced that CapSlam had been eliminated and still cheered (as they should) when the finalists were announced.

Let’s look at the good things, shall we?

CFSW will be crowing a new champion on Saturday. Only four teams have ever won the coveted prize: Vancouver (3 times), Halifax, Capital Slam (2 times each) and Edmonton (once).

The four teams that will be competing for it this year include a perrenial contender, Up From the Roots, and 3 first-time finalists: Calgary, Saskatoon and Toronto Poetry Slam.

Also, asked to perform on the finals stage are members of the Urban Legends team, ArRay-of-WoRds and Apollo the Child.

Also, the Capital Slam team, after coming so close that for the first time in Canadian National Slam history vidseo replay had be used to crown the finalists, has been asked to perform as well.

Also, I see what I think was the best thing of the entire festival. R.C. Weslowski, Missie Peters and Chris Gilpin (with special guest Brendan McLeod) did a showcase called Spoken Weird.

From strong, inventive pieces by masters at the ‘genre’, to an incredibly strong piece by Missie Peters that needs to be experienced to grasp, to an AwesomeFace style birthday party… It was just brilliant.

Now I am drained and plain tired. Tomorrow is another big day. In addition to the finals, there is a SpoCan meeting that will end in some new rules, new board members and an announcement about the 2014 CFSW.

Stay tuned…

4 thoughts on “CFSW Day 5

  1. Matt says:

    Heya Rusty,

    TPS has made final stage at least 2 times (possibly more, ask Dave). Although it has been 4 years since we’ve made even semis.

  2. Great re-cap Rusty. So glad I could read & feel like I’m not missing quite as much as I feel I am. Hugs.

  3. deekayelgee says:

    This all sounds intense. I wish I was there to sit an listen to you deconstruct the night. Call me when you get home, and download it all on my ears. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

